31st March 2008

Crossover driver wins in Top Fuel

posted in Car News Articles |

O’Reilly NHRA Nationals
Houston Raceway Park, Baytown

Top Fuel: Antron Brown become the first driver in NHRA history to win races in Pro Stock Motorcycle and Top Fuel, beating Larry Dixon in the final Sunday. Brown also joined J.R. Todd as the only black Top Fuel winners. Brown, a 16-time winner in Pro Stock Motorcycle before making the jump to the 7,000-horsepower Top Fuel class this year, sped past Dixon in a terrific final, finishing in 4.605 seconds at 320.28 mph to Dixon’s 4.621 at 309.06. “We’ve been plagued by the second round all season. The second round’s been biting us, but today we bit back,” Brown said.

Funny Car: Del Worsham beat John Force in the semis and Ashley Force in the final, 4.933 at 316.60 to 4.971 at 302.62, en route to his 22nd career win, but only his first since Labor Day weekend 2005.

Pro Stock: Greg Anderson’s win in 6.692 at 207.37 over a tire-shaking Kurt Johnson (13.425 at 64.01) was the 53rd of his career, which moved him one ahead of Joe Amato (52) into solo fifth on the NHRA POWERade Series’ wins list.

Pro Stock Motorcycle: Matt Smith (7.060 at 187.76), sailed past Matt Guidera (7.140 at 185.03) to claim his first win of the season.

Full results and coverage can be found here.

– The Associated Press

Read more

This entry was posted on Monday, March 31st, 2008 at 4:03 pm and is filed under Car News Articles. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.